The Mitcham Art Prize is a Gallery One initiative which was established to support and exhibit local artists.

2019 Mitcham Art Prize and Auction GALA

A Night of Fine Art, Music, Food and Wine

Mitcham Art Prize

Image: Mitcham Art Prize 2015

9 November @ 5.30 for 6 pm  @ Gallery One

TICKETS are  $15 Buy a ticket for Gala here


  • 2019 Winners Announcement
  • Live Music by Les Gitanes Blancs and Eric Hudson
  • Wine Auction with labels created by Gallery One Artist Ian lapthorne
  • Door Prize
  • Raffle
  • Silent Auction of Cigar Box Lids by Artists: Diana Bradshaw, Wende Dahl, Dieter Engler, Syd La Faber, Ian Lapthorne and Robert Zunic
Image: Cigar Box Lid by Arthur Phillips 2016

Image: Cigar Box Lid by Arthur Phillips 2016



2019 is the sixth year of the exhibition and the fourth year where the prize will be judged, as well as continuing the popular People’s Choice Awards. In 2016, the judges were exhibition curator Russell Starke OAM, and well-known Adelaide artists Margaret Slape-Phillips and Arthur Phillips. Russell Starke returned to curate and judge the 2017 and 2018 Mitcham Art Prize, with fellow judges artists Emma Hack, Margaret Tuckey and Trudyanne Brown from BMGArt.






Cigar Box Lid by Greg O'Leary 2016

Image: Cigar Box Lid by Greg O’Leary 2016

Mitcham Art Prize and exhibition is supported generously by local business and community sponsors. Past and present sponsors include David Smallacombe, the Rotary Club of Mitcham SA, the City of Mitcham, the Mayor of Mitcham Donation Fund, Claridge Motors, Dan Murphy’s, Geoff Weaver Winemaker and Art to Art. In 2017 Mitcham Art Prize was also supported by a City of Mitcham Community Development Grant and Special Community Project Grants.


The Gala event on Closing Night of the exhibition features a silent art auction of Cigar Box Lid paintings.

Contributing artists

2015 Harvey Collins, Gary Lee Gaston, Dieter Engler, Margaret Tuckey, Tsering Hannaford and Stephen Trebilcock

2016 Alison Mitchell, Margaret Slape-Phillips, Dieter Engler, Robert Hannaford, Glenn Kestrell, Greg O’Leary, Arthur Phillips and Alan Louis Ramachandran

2017 Sonja Durmanovic, Mike Barr, Gerhard Ritter, Cathi Steer,John Lacey,Coralie Armstrong

2018 Ken Done, Andrew Baines ,Ross Morgan , JA Arnott, Rod Bax, Barry Andersen, Stephen Skillitzi and Don Lock

Tickets for the Gala event are $15 and can be purchased in advance from Gallery One or at the door on the night




Prize winners 2016

Gala Night 2015